President Message



Srigandha Kannada Koota was started 25 years ago, with only a few Kannadiga families gathering in their home, and year after year, it expanded to what it is now, about 400 members, hosting in large venues across Tampa. I am proud to serve as this year’s president and happy to be here when Srigandha Kannada Koota is celebrating its 25th anniversary on September 8th in Tampa, Florida.

Tampa Bay’s growing Kannadiga population and advancement in communication tools such as WhatsApp, Facebook, emails, Evite have been the key to the organization’s expansion. Each year, we host three to four social events, starting with Sankranti in January, Ugadi in March-April, and Kannada Rajyothsava in November. Each of these events gives us the opportunity to meet friends, celebrate the Kannada culture through dance, drama and music, put together by our amazing local talent. We have also had the opportunity to invite special artists from Karnataka to bring their talent to our local events. A new successful and popular event this year was the cricket tournament, which displayed the talents of our local Kannadiga cricket players and enthusiasts! Each and every event is more memorable with the addition of snacks and festive food.

All of this could not be accomplished without the financial support of our sponsors, donors and member registration.

Srigandha Kannada Koota encourages the younger members to be more involved and active in the organization. The weekly Kannada class held at the Hindu Temple of Florida instills the importance of the Kannada language as well as encourages participation and understanding of the festivals and events held each year. The Kannada class, which is run by volunteers boasts of 25 students from the ages 4-12 distributed between 3 classrooms. Thank you to the volunteers who are shaping the younger Kannadigas in our language and culture.

Lastly, I want to thank the donors, volunteers, and executive committee for helping me make this year’s Srigandha Kannada Koota a success!



Vijaya Prakash, President